Blog Post #11

This vessel was made in Iznik, Turkey. It was made during the 16th century. I decided to recreate this vessel in a way because the shape of it I very unique and the detail is beautiful. Before touching clay I had to plan how I was going to create this piece. Mrs.A taught us how we were going to shape the clay into making a vessel we were going to recreate. I used the artistic behavior, “Artists Plan”; I researched many pots similar to this then I chose this one because it was the best fit for me. Then i drew many sketches to create the pot to look as similar to this one as it can get. After sketching it I had to create a stencil, I traced the pot on thin paper like material then cut out the pot. Putting it over cardboard i traced the outline of it then cut it out so i would be able to put it against my clay to form the pot the shape I wanted it to be. Another artistic behavior I used was “Artists Reflect”. I used this by creating my piece slowly and comparing it to the stencil making sure it fit. I would have to smooth out the surface quite often and fix the parts if the light would come through it.

One thought on “Blog Post #11

  1. God job on smoothing out the cracks right away because otherwise it would dry and you wouldn’t be able to fix it that much. If you are having trouble making coils, try to throw it like a slab then round it in your hands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *